Superintendent announces new principals, acting director of transportation

Superintendent announces new principals, acting director of transportation

Superintendent of Schools Kimberly Hill on July 19 announced additional administrative changes, including the appointment of an acting director of transportation and two new principals.

Bradley Snow, principal of Maurice J. McDonough High School, has been named acting director of transportation. Replacing Snow at McDonough is Steven Roberts, a vice principal from North Point High School. Additionally, Hill named Michelle Beckwith as principal of Dr. James Craik Elementary School to replace Melissa Logan, who has resigned to take a position in another state.

Snow has 16 years of experience with Charles County Public Schools (CCPS), all at McDonough. He has served as McDonough’s principal since 2011. He was named vice principal in 2006 and started at McDonough in 2000 as a health teacher. Snow replaces Michael Heim as director of transportation. Heim was recently promoted to the position of Assistant Superintendent of Supporting Services.

Roberts replaces Snow at McDonough. Last school year, Roberts was a vice principal at North Point, but also served as McDonough’s vice principal from 2011 to 2015. He started his career with CCPS in 1997 as a math teacher at Westlake High School.

Beckwith has served as a vice principal since 2011, first at Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School and later at Arthur Middleton Elementary School. She was a reading resource teacher from 2005 to 2011, serving students at Craik and Berry elementary schools. She started her career with CCPS as a third-grade teacher at Malcolm Elementary School.

Other appointments include:

  • Brad Buzby, a member of the instructional leadership team (ILT) at Eva Turner Elementary School, as vice principal at Middleton.
  • Phil Jones, an administrative assistant at Thomas Stone High School, as vice principal at Westlake.
  • Adam Todd, an instructional resource teacher at Milton M. Somers Middle School, as vice principal at William A. Diggs Elementary School.
  • Laura Hindsley, administrative assistant at Westlake, as acting vice principal at North Point High School.
  • Jaime Bowie, administrative assistant at Henry E. Lackey High School, as acting vice principal at Lackey.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers