Students named Ruth Ann Hall award winners

Students named Ruth Ann Hall award winners

More than 20 Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students were named Ruth Ann Hall Champion Scholar Award winners during a recognition ceremony April 19 at the Board of Education’s monthly meeting. The Education Association of Charles County (EACC) established the award program to honor the late Hall, a former president of the association.

The following students received the award:

  • Jayren Dawkins, seventh grade, Theodore G. Davis Middle School;
  • Lelany Wells, eighth grade, Davis;
  • Jared Kutsushi, eighth grade, Davis;
  • Keylin Marquez Dubon, eighth grade, Davis;
  • Josh Dixon, eighth grade, John Hanson Middle School;
  • Jessica Wilson, sixth grade, Matthew Henson Middle School;
  • Louis “Lou” Bassett, sixth grade, Henson;
  • Jaylah Fields, sixth grade; Henson
  • Raell J. Moreland, eighth grade; Henson
  • Ayanna Ross, eighth grade, Mattawoman Middle School;
  • Aiden Lehn, eighth grade, Mattawoman,
  • Gary Boykin, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Kayla Windsor, seventh grade, Piccowaxen Middle School;
  • Kailee Marshall, seventh grade, Piccowaxen;
  • Julie Hutson, seventh grade, Piccowaxen;
  • Kalei Marable, eighth grade, General Smallwood Middle School;
  • Morganne Douglas, eighth grade, Smallwood;
  • John Bogart, eighth grade, Smallwood;
  • Antonio “Tony” Baker, sixth grade, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Katie Maljak, seventh grade, Somers;
  • Christopher Walker, eighth grade, Somers;
  • Gerald Wade, eighth grade, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center;
  • Christopher Combs, sixth grade, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School; and
  • Ahmari White, sixth grade, Stoddert.

The EACC created the Ruth Ann Hall Champion Scholar Awards as a memorial to Hall, who had a 20-year career as a teacher with CCPS. In 1986, Hall was the recipient of the Washington Post’s Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year award when she was a teacher at Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School. She also taught at Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School and Mattawoman Middle School. The EACC established the award program for middle school students because Hall last taught at Mattawoman.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.


The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers