Students honored as Carson Scholars

Students honored as Carson Scholars

Two Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students achieved Carson Scholar status earlier this month. They are Jayden Hill, a fourth-grade student at Billingsley Elementary School, and Kiley Grollman, a fifth grader at Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School. The Carson Scholars program recognizes students for high academic achievement, humanitarian qualities and community service.

As Carson Scholars, both Grollman and Hill receive a $1,000 college scholarship. Carson Scholars are eligible for annual renewal of the scholarship as long as they maintain high academic standards and a commitment to their communities.

Students are nominated by members of their respective school communities for recognition as a Carson Scholar. The application process is competitive and about 500 new Carson Scholars are chosen nationwide annually.

Ten other CCPS students received a scholarship renewal in 2020. They include:

  • Eileen Browning, sophomore, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • Owen Butler, senior, La Plata High School;
  • Noah Cusack, eighth grade, Piccowaxen Middle School;
  • Brady Freundel, eighth grade, General Smallwood Middle School;
  • Alyssa Gerhart, junior, North Point High School;
  • Jolie Lombardi, eighth grade, Piccowaxen;
  • Madelyn Mudd, senior, La Plata;
  • Aaron Sellow, freshman, North Point;
  • Nya Whitney, sixth grade, Milton M. Somers Middle School; and
  • Benjamin Williamson, freshman, North Point.

Each year, the Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to a select group of high achieving students in grades four through 12. These students demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities. Carson Scholars must also have a minimum GPA of 3.75.

The Carson Scholars Fund was founded in 1994 by world-renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Benjamin S. Carson and his wife to motivate and reward academic excellence in young people. The Carson Scholars Fund has awarded more than 7,000 scholarships and has scholars in all 50 states and Washington, D.C.

Visit the Carson Scholars website at for more information.  

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,521 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 37 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers