Student leaders selected for coming school year

Student leaders selected for coming school year

The Student Member to the Board of Education of Charles County for the 2015-16 school year was recently chosen from among student leaders at Charles County’s seven public high schools. Pearson Benson, a rising junior at Westlake High School, will represent Charles County Public Schools students as the Student Board Member. He will be sworn in to his position at the Board of Education’s June 9 meeting.

Student candidates interested in being considered for the position are required to submit an essay regarding a student concern and possible solution. A committee composed of school system staff selects the student to work with the Board. The Student Board Member works with a committee of student liaisons, one student from each high school, throughout the school year. Each high school is required to have a student liaison, which is selected by methods approved by the school’s student government association (SGA) and principal.

The following students were chosen to serve as liaisons for their high schools:

  • Kaitlyn Willett, rising sophomore, Henry E. Lackey High School;
  • T.C. Martin, rising senior, La Plata High School;
  • Michael Malherek, rising senior, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • Da’Juon Washington, rising senior, North Point High School;
  • Paris Mercier, rising senior, St. Charles High School and alternate Student Board Member;
  • Jessica Hoare, rising senior, Thomas Stone High School; and
  • Edmundo Medel, rising senior, Westlake High School.

Student members of the Charles County Association of Student Councils (CCASC) also selected new officers for the 2015-16 school year. Representing the CCASC next school year are

  • Kiara Williams, rising senior, president, Westlake;
  • Joseph Perriello, rising junior, vice president, North Point;
  • Cole Smith, rising freshman, second vice president, North Point;
  • Shelby Lawanson, rising senior, secretary, Westlake;
  • Rabia Dhanani, rising senior, charity coordinator, Westlake; and
  • Wyatt Kirkpatrick, rising seventh grader, Matthew Henson Middle School.

Each year, CCASC officers are elected by student delegates in the spring. Schools develop their own methods for selecting CCASC student delegates. Each high school sends 15 delegates to monthly meetings; middle schools send up to 10 delegates. The CCASC is an organization consisting of student leaders from the county’s six high schools and eight middle schools. These students meet throughout the year to discuss issues and concerns, as well as provide input to school system leaders on programs and policies.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,500 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers