Student Board member selected for 2014-15 school year

Student Board member selected for 2014-15 school year

Georgia Benson, a rising senior at Westlake High School, is the student member of the Board of Education of Charles County for the 2014-15 school year. She was sworn in to the position by Board of Education Chairman Roberta S. Wise at today’s Board of Education meeting. As the Student Board Member, Benson will work with a student liaison committee throughout the school year. The following students were selected as members of the student liaison committee:

  • Amanda Hobgood, rising junior, Henry E. Lackey High School liaison;
  • T.C. Martin, rising junior, La Plata High School liaison;
  • Aaron King, rising senior, Maurice J. McDonough High School liaison;
  • Maya Kidane, rising senior, North Point High School liaison and alternate student board member;
  • Chelsea Cox-Brown, rising senior, Thomas Stone High School liaison; and
  • Andrew Williams, rising senior, Westlake liaison.

A student liaison for St. Charles High School will be announced later this year. Each high school is required to have a student liaison, which is selected by methods approved by the school’s student government association (SGA) and principal.

Liaisons can apply as a candidate for the position of Student Board Member. Candidates submit an essay regarding a student concern and possible solution. A committee composed of school system staff selects the student to work with the Board.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Pamela Murphy, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646; (301) 932-6610/870-3814. For special accommodations call (301) 934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Board Chairman Roberta Wise, right, shakes Georgia Benson's hand after swearing her in as the new student member to the Board of Education.
Board Chairman Roberta Wise, right, shakes Georgia Benson’s hand, left, after swearing her in as the new student member to the Board of Education.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,802 other subscribers