Student Board member selected for 2013-14 school year

Student Board member selected for 2013-14 school year

Amit Patel, a rising senior at Maurice J. McDonough High School, is the student member of the Board of Education of Charles County for the 2013-14 school year. He will be sworn in to the position by Board of Education Chairman Roberta S. Wise at the June 11 meeting, which begins at 1 p.m.

As the Student Board Member, Patel will work with a student liaison committee throughout the school year. The following students were selected as members of the student liaison committee:

  • Kim Jacks, rising junior, Henry E. Lackey High School liaison;
  • Katherine Snee, rising senior, La Plata High School liaison;
  • Katelyn Turner, rising senior, Maurice J. McDonough High School liaison;
  • Thomas Lilly, rising senior, North Point High School liaison and alternate student board member;
  • Maher Bousaba, rising senior, Thomas Stone High School liaison; and
  • Susan Duncan, rising senior, Westlake High School liaison.

Each high school is required to have a student liaison and may be selected by methods approved by the school's Student Government Association (SGA) and principal. Each liaison can apply as a candidate for the position of Student Board Member. Candidates are required to submit an essay regarding a student concern and a detailed possible solution.

The essays are evaluated and candidates are interviewed by a committee composed of students and advisors. The liaison with the highest combined score on the essay and the interview is named the Student Board Member.

Additionally, student members of the Charles County Association of Student Councils (CCASC) recently elected new officers for the 2013-14 school year.

The new officers are:

  • Oluwatomike (Tomi) Adeboyejo, rising senior, president, Westlake;
  • Isabelle Browning, rising senior, first vice-president, McDonough;
  • Joseph Perriello, rising freshman, second vice-president, North Point;
  • Amanda Hobgood, rising sophomore, secretary, Lackey; and
  • Cole Smith, rising seventh grader, middle school representative, Matthew Henson Middle School.

Each year, CCASC officers are elected by student delegates in the spring. Schools develop their own methods for selecting CCASC student delegates. Each high school sends 15 delegates to monthly meetings; middle schools send 10 delegates.

The CCASC is an organization consisting of student leaders from the county's six high schools and eight middle schools. These students meet throughout the year to discuss issues and concerns, as well as provide input to school system leaders on programs and policies.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,700 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,802 other subscribers