Student artists honored in County First Bank Art Exhibit

Student artists honored in County First Bank Art Exhibit

More than 80 Charles County elementary student artists were celebrated at the 25th annual County First Bank art exhibit held earlier this month at Mary B. Neal Elementary School. Students from all 21 elementary schools, as well as area private schools, submitted entries to the show. This year’s theme was “Traditions” and participating schools were divided into two regions – North and South. Awards were given to each group for first through third places, Best of Show, Most Creative, Most Traditional, Most Contemporary and an overall Grand Prize.

The Grand Prize winner for the North region was Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, and Dr. Gustavus Brown Elementary School was named the Grand Prize winner among the schools in the South region.

The following students received awards for their entries:

North region winners – first place

  • Wesley Trout, third grade, Archbishop Neale School (ANS);
  • Katelyn McCreery, fourth grade, Dr. James Craik Elementary School;
  • Savannah Logan, fourth grade, Gale-Bailey Elementary School;
  • Jeannie Lopez-Eisenbrey, third grade, Grace Lutheran School;
  • Alexandra Merchant, fourth grade, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School;
  • Gabriel Rodriguez-Batalla, fourth grade, Indian Head Elementary School;
  • Abigail Galope, third grade, T.C. Martin Elementary School;
  • Madison Santimays, fourth grade, Mary H. Matula Elementary School;
  • Addison Pfleegor, fourth grade, Mitchell;
  • Javon Thompson, third grade, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School;
  • Izaih Ransome, fourth grade, J.C. Parks Elementary School; and
  • Aidan Hanley, fourth grade, St. Mary’s School, Bryantown.

North region winners – second place

  • Cole Castiglia, fourth grade, ANS;
  • Gracie Lyon, fourth grade, Craik;
  • Jessica Oliver, third grade, Gale-Bailey;
  • Conlen Davis, fourth grade, Grace Lutheran;
  • Isabella Windsor, fourth grade, Higdon;
  • Gianna Spiller, third grade, Indian Head;
  • Ryley Davis, fourth grade, Martin;
  • Sophie Earl, fourth grade, Matula;
  • Gianna Rodriguez, fourth grade, Mitchell;
  • Kyla Smith, fourth grade, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy;
  • Aaliyah Jegels, fourth grade, Parks; and
  • Marissa Van Meter, fourth grade, St. Mary’s.

North region winners – third place

  • Gabriella Lawson, fourth grade, ANS;
  • Amna Shah, fourth grade, Craik;
  • Dior Fraser, third grade, Gale-Bailey;
  • Reed Lynham, fourth grade, Grace Lutheran;
  • Claire Bright, third grade, Higdon;
  • Jamie Outland, third grade, Indian Head;
  • Hailey Hutchens, third grade, Martin;
  • Nathan Pankowski, third grade, Matula;
  • Marissa Burns, fourth grade, Mitchell;
  • Richard Stebbins, fourth grade, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy;
  • Amy Martinez-Lopez, fourth grade, Parks; and
  • Carleigh Watson, third grade, St. Mary’s.

Higdon fourth grader Taylor Hyon received the Most Traditional award among the North region participating schools. Martin fourth grader Garrett Simmons received the Most Creative award. Mitchell fourth grader Chris Jozwik received the Best of Show award and Lily Sanford, also a fourth grader at Mitchell, received the Most Contemporary award. Madalyn Earnshaw, a third grader at St. Mary’s, received the Most Original award.

South region winners – first place

  • Taniya Golson, third grade, C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School;
  • Sabine Kitenge, third grade, Berry Elementary School;
  • Cazandra Baldonado, fourth grade, Brown;
  • Heighley Johnson, fourth grade, William A. Diggs Elementary School;
  • Eric Ruiz-Roca, fourth grade, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School;
  • Nina Hardy, fourth grade, Malcolm Elementary School;
  • Imani Scott, third grade, Arthur Middleton Elementary School;
  • Maya Cauley, fourth grade, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School;
  • Matt Capule, third grade, Neal;
  • Max Malone, fourth grade, J.P. Ryon Elementary School;
  • Shannon Cain, fourth grade, St. Peter’s School; and
  • Jocelyn Young, fourth grade, William B. Wade Elementary School.

South region winners – second place

  • Stan Fernandez, third grade, Barnhart;
  • Taylor Richardson, third grade, Berry;
  • Erika Alegria-Echeverria, third grade, Brown;
  • Nolan Lawrence, fourth grade, Diggs;
  • Rudaina Quorishi, fourth grade, Jenifer;
  • Larry Gross, fourth grade, Malcolm;
  • Rudy Alfano, third grade, Middleton;
  • Kristina Hammond, third grade, Mudd;
  • Makiya Johnson, fourth grade, Neal;
  • Lavelton Jones, third grade, Ryon;
  • Sophia Reyes, third grade, St. Peter’s; and
  • Sanaa Marshall, fourth grade, Wade.

South region winners – third place

  • Lena Black, third grade, Barnhart;
  • Mackenzie Baird, fourth grade, Berry;
  • Dominick Del Carmen, fourth grade, Brown;
  • Emily Ohlinger, fourth grade, Diggs;
  • Amanda Ramirez, fourth grade, Jenifer;
  • Rachel Laurie, third grade, Malcolm;
  • Donovan Crichlow, third grade, Middleton;
  • Jaylyn McConnell, fourth grade, Mudd;
  • D’Shawn Burton, third grade, Neal;
  • Alyssa Ayers, fourth grade, Ryon;
  • Morgan Goldring, fourth grade, St. Peter’s; and
  • Elizabeth Eckard, fourth grade, Wade.

Brown fourth grader Anazia Lloyd received the Most Traditional award among participating students in the South region. Diggs’ Hailey Rogers, a fourth-grade student, earned the Most Contemporary award. Neal’s Aston Nguyen, a third grader, received the Best of Show award and Daniel Trey Owens, a third grader at St. Peter’s, received an award for Most Original. William Alex Benton, a fourth grader at Jenifer, received the Most Creative award.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD. 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,805 other subscribers