Science teacher named national Presidential award recipient

Science teacher named national Presidential award recipient

Timothy Emhoff, a Charles County Public Schools environmental education resource teacher, was recently named one of 102 national winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) by the National Science Foundation. The award is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through grade 12 mathematics or science teacher can receive in the United States.

Emhoff was nominated for the award by Monique Wilson, director of the science center at St. Charles High School and former coordinator of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education for Charles County Public Schools. He was chosen as an award winner from selected mathematics and science teachers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and is the science recipient from Maryland. The competition alternates each year between kindergarten through sixth-grade teachers and seventh- through twelfth-grade teachers. National winners are chosen by a panel of distinguished scientists and mathematicians.

As a national recipient, Emhoff receives a $10,000 grant and said he is honored to receive such a prestigious award. “The award is validation that I am on the right path in terms of my approach to education. I am thankful for my supervisors, colleagues, students, and family for their support that has helped me along this path in becoming an effective facilitator,” he said.

Emhoff was named an environmental education resource teacher in 2013 and oversees the Nanjemoy Creek Environmental Education Center for Charles County Public Schools. He previously taught science at Indian Head Elementary School for 13 years, where he used hands-on activities and inquiry-based labs to connect students with real-world scenarios. Emhoff also coordinated after school sessions for students in need of assistance, and served as a coach for the Mathematics, Engineering and Science Achievement (MESA) and LEGO teams at Indian Head.

In addition to his involvement with the Indian Head community, Emhoff helped design the elementary portion of the Naval Surface Warfare Center’s science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) program Go Places! With Math and Science, and served as a STEM master teacher for the Maryland State Department of Education’s (MSDE) Educator Effectiveness Academies. Additionally, he has also helped to facilitate environmental institutes through a partnership with the Alice Ferguson Foundation.

Principals, parents, students or community members can submit nominations for the award and nominations can be submitted for more than one teacher. Teachers can also nominate themselves. Once all nominations are received, nominated teachers are notified and must continue the application process to be considered for an award.

Emhoff, along with all other awardees, will be honored during a ceremony later this year. For more information about PAEMST, visit

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,500 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Connie W. Armstead, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Timothy Emhoff

Pictured above is Timothy Emhoff, who was recently named one of 102 national winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers