Scholarship opportunities available for county students

Scholarship opportunities available for county students

The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc. is offering more than 50 scholarships to Charles County high school students. Applications for scholarships are available at all county high schools. Interested students must submit completed applications by Tuesday, March 1, to their college and career advisor. Award notification will be announced at high school senior awards ceremonies this spring. Students need only to submit one application.

Applications are also available on the school system website,, under the students/parents section. Click on the Scholarship Information link from the menu. Each scholarship has specific eligibility criteria; information regarding eligibility is listed in the application.

Additional application requirements include a resume, personal statement that details academic and career goals, two letters of recommendation, a high school transcript and copy of the first semester senior year report card. Students who have received SAT/ACT scores can also include them with their application.

Students who apply for any scholarship that lists demonstrated financial need as criteria should also include a student aid report (SAR) form for the 2016-17 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The form is available at The deadline to complete the FAFSA for Maryland students is March 1. Students in need of assistance with the form or completing the FAFSA should contact their college and career advisor.

The following scholarships are available:

  • Apartments of St. Charles Scholarship, $500;
  • Ashley Jayne Younger Memorial Scholarship, $500 (for Westlake High School students);
  • Charles County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, $1,000;
  • Charles County Health Department and School Nurses’ Scholarship, $250;
  • Charles County Retired School Personnel Association Scholarship, $500 (one for each Charles County public high school);
  • Charles County Teacher Education Assistance Grant, $1,000 (renewable);
  • Darren A. Bowie Scholarship, $1000 (for Henry E. Lackey High School students);
  • Edward Rorer Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • Eric Sawchak Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;
  • GFWC, Charles County Woman’s Club, $500;
  • Grote Memorial Scholarship, $500 (for La Plata High School students);
  • Guy and Blondell Toye Scholarship, $200;
  • Harding Memorial Future Educator Scholarship, $1,000;
  • Jeremiah and Elijah Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • John H. Cox Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;
  • John Howie Memorial Scholarship, $500 (two awards);
  • Kate Donahue Scholarship, $400 (for Lackey students);
  • Katherine D. Racey Memorial Scholarship, $1,500 (for Lackey and Maurice J. McDonough High School students);
  • Ken Stump Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • Kenneth Bernard Proctor Sr. Scholarship, $500;
  • La Plata Garden Club Scholarship, $1,000 (two awards);
  • Lisa Michele Duckett Achievement Award, $1,000;
  • Lizbeth Frazer-Fatig Helping Hand Scholarship, $4000 (for North Point students);
  • Mary Matula Scholarship, $500 (for La Plata students);
  • Michael J. Anderson Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for La Plata students);
  • Michael S. Tayman Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for McDonough students);
  • Michael S. Tayman Memorial Music Scholarship, $1,000 (for McDonough students);
  • Michael S. Tayman Memorial Nursing Scholarship, $1,000 (for McDonough students);
  • Mildred Rice O’Callaghan Scholarship, $500 (for Lackey students);
  • Nicole Pitonyak Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for North Point High School students);
  • Parker Financial Literacy Scholarship, $250;
  • Patricia Sugg Weiers Memorial Scholarship, $250;
  • Professor V. Phillips Weaver Scholarship, $1,000;
  • Rachel Myers Trade School Scholarship, $500;
  • Richard J. Abela Scholarship, $2,000 (for North Point students);
  • Robert Dean Stethem National Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;
  • Robert Dean Stethem Thomas Stone Scholarship, $1,000 (for Thomas Stone students);
  • Ronald G. Cunningham Scholarship, $2,500 (one for each Charles County public high school);
  • Ronald G. Cunningham Nursing Scholarship, $500;
  • St. Charles Community Scholarship, $500 (three awards);
  • Starkey Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • Stephen E. Mitchell Educational Scholarship, $500;
  • Thomas B.R. Mudd Nurse Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, full two years;
  • Thomas B.R. Mudd Teacher Scholarship, College of Southern Maryland, full two years;
  • Thomas Kurtz Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 (for Lackey students);
  • Thomas W. Weirich Scholar-Athlete Award, $1,000;
  • Timothy Minor Criminal Justice Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • Timothy Minor Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • Tiny Hopes Scholarship, $1,000 (three awards);
  • Unnae Pak-Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;
  • William and Vivian King Scholarship, $1,000 (one for each Charles County public high school); and
  • Zonta of Charles County Scholarship, $1,000 (two awards).

The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to Charles County students. The Charles County Commissioners, Charles County Public Schools, the College of Southern Maryland and the Chamber of Commerce are always represented on the Scholarship Fund Board. All other community members are selected from the community at large.

Contact Alicia Jones, Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc., at 301-934-7334, for more information.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers