North Point Unified Track team earns first place award

North Point Unified Track team earns first place award

The Unified Track and Field team from North Point High School recently won first place in their division at the Special Olympics Maryland 2014 Interscholastic Unified Track and Field High School Invitational held May 6 at the Prince George’s Sports and Learning Complex in Landover, Maryland.

The team earned a total of 174 points among competing schools in division six of the event, which featured several track and field challenges ranging from the 100-, 400- and 800-meter dash races and shot-put throw to the long jump, mini-javelin throw and relay races. Students from all six Charles County public high schools participated in the Invitational, which was separated into six levels of competition – divisions one through six. Schools from Alleghany, Carroll, Frederick, Prince George’s and Washington counties also competed at the event, and students from 43 Maryland high schools participated.

Maurice J. McDonough High School’s team earned second place among competing teams in division six with a total of 159 points. Students from Henry E. Lackey, Thomas Stone and Westlake high schools earned a fifth place overall award with 56 points among competing teams in division four. Additionally, La Plata High School’s team won a seventh place overall award with 43 points among teams competing in division two.

Members of the North Point team are: Devin Abraham, sophomore; Sara Akers, Adult Independence Program (AIP) student; Ja’Nya Banks, senior; Aisha Barnes, sophomore; Alexandria Barnes, junior; Damon Brooks, senior; Molly Cook, senior; Jalynn Cristaudo, sophomore; Shelby Davis, sophomore; Alaysia Dixon, sophomore; Cordell Easter, junior; Kyle Gascon, senior; Nate Gilchrist, junior; Briana Glasgow, sophomore; Autumn Harding, sophomore; Carl Hargrove, junior; Keely Hollyfield, senior; Deanne Holton, senior; Logan Jenkins, junior; Sydney Jordan, freshman; Nidhi Kalaria, sophomore; Denise Laforteza, sophomore; Brendan McCloskey, junior; Tori Nguyen, junior; Justin Onwuegbu-Guy, senior; Kayla Parthree, senior; Raquel Passmore, sophomore; Jordan Prince, sophomore; Sierra Pritchett, sophomore; Jada Queen, sophomore; Elizabeth Quintana, junior; Morgan Sandlin, freshman; Esha Satam, freshman; Angela Schroeck, sophomore; Alexis Sole, senior; Shelly Sweeney, freshman; Alison Swegle, sophomore; Cindy Thai, junior; Marquise White, senior; Tiara White, sophomore; Jalen Williams, sophomore; and Dorian Young, AIP student. Team coaches are Alison Cheney-Heiser, physical education teacher, North Point; Mike Heiser, special education teacher, F.B. Gwynn Educational Center; and Willie Leonard, physical education teacher, North Point.

Members of the McDonough team are: Richard Addison, senior; Carolyn Burgess, junior; Nyle Coleman, freshman; Naquantay Chappell, sophomore; Marlexus Castillo, sophomore; Marcus Curtis, sophomore; Cameron Dew, sophomore; Jovon Dawson, freshman; Sydney Fuller, senior; Amy Grund, senior; Jacob Gilliam, senior; Zophia Galvan, senior; Isaac Green, AIP student; Josh Gauvin, AIP student; Danae Grant, senior; Alison Inderrieden, senior; Brianna Jackson, junior; Julia Lesko, junior; Nick Laco, junior; Marc Landicho, freshman; Derrel Makle, junior; Robert Mullins, AIP student; John Purdy, junior; Jenna Purdy, freshman; Dominic Plater, senior; Michael Proctor, junior; Dominique Sumpter, junior; Estriana Smith, sophomore; Nichelle Simmonds, senior; Xavier Woods, senior; Nicolle Williams, junior; Julie Whitney, senior; and Alice Whitney, AIP student. Team coaches are David Bradshaw and David Rooney, physical education teachers at McDonough.

The students on Lackey’s team are: Knoah Duckett, freshman; Kavon Green Johnson, freshman; Brenden Kelley, junior; and Matthew Sheehan, senior. Team coaches are Lackey special education teachers Evan Vahratian and Jason Vitti.   

Stone’s team includes students Emma Braunbeck, sophomore; Hanna Chandler, sophomore; Micah McDowell, junior; and Ryan Sharp, junior. Kevin Heider, a biology teacher at Stone, and Paul Friel, physical education teacher at Stone, are the team’s coaches. 

Westlake’s team includes T.J. Carter, senior; Chayce McDonald, sophomore; and Samuel Sullivan III, junior. Team coaches are Rebecca Fleckenstein, Westlake special education teacher, and instructional assistants Sheila Church and Derwin Webb.

La Plata’s team includes the following student members: Nick Adriani, senior; Amanda Campbell, senior; MaKenzie Charles, sophomore; Caroline Dinh, sophomore; Brandon Garner, senior; Joshua Hoffman, freshman; Emily Hughes, junior; Stephen Lehman-Davis, senior; Paige Maxwell, sophomore; Kyle McCloskey, AIP student; Danielle Murphy, junior; Carley Scroggins, junior; Naja Stewart, freshman; Kylie Smiroldo, freshman; and Rebecca Stine, sophomore. Team coaches are Brittany Chavara, special education teacher at La Plata, and Heather Davis, a special education teacher at Gwynn.

Charles County Public Schools partnered with Special Olympics Maryland in 2008 to offer high school students of all abilities the opportunity to participate on a track and field team. Unified sports teams are composed of a combination of students with and without abilities who train together and compete against other schools. Participation in the program has increased over the past few years.

The goal of the partnership is to provide students with disabilities opportunities to explore their athletic abilities and social, communication and relationship-building skills. The partnership also provides students without disabilities the opportunity to work with students from diverse backgrounds, learn about teamwork and communication, and participate in a rewarding athletics program.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela Murphy, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers