Craik teams earn first place in Elementary Math Challenge

Craik teams earn first place in Elementary Math Challenge

Two teams from Dr. James Craik Elementary School earned the top spots in the Elementary Math Challenge, held Saturday, April 26 at Theodore G. Davis Middle School. The event is for fourth- and fifth-grade students and is a two-part mathematics challenge that includes both team and individual competitions. Teams from all Charles County public elementary schools competed. The team challenge requires each team to solve four reasoning and problem solving questions within a 30-minute period.

Craik’s fourth-grade team earned first place with a score of 400 out of 21 competing teams. Team members are Tanner Broadwater, Eileen Browning, Jason Haley, Rico Harley, Param Jhala, Hannah Krauel and Sky Pemberton. The team coach is Craik fourth-grade teacher Michelle Daggett. Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School’s fourth-grade team won second place, followed by a team from Mary H. Matula Elementary School in third place.

Craik’s fifth-grade team earned first place with a score of 472 out of 21 competing teams. Team members are Jordan Ball, Connor Cox, Andrew Deeds, Iris Golden, Aidan Hoffman, Thomas Lesko and Dylan Price. The team coach is Craik fifth-grade teacher Suzette Hahn. William B. Wade Elementary School’s fifth-grade team won second place, followed by a team from Matula in third place.

In the individual portion of the competition, each team member takes a test of 30 math problems and has 30 minutes to complete them. This year, the individual challenge was completed online. The top five individual scores are added to the team score to compute a team’s overall score.

Nate Allen from Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School was named the first-place individual winner with a score of 83 at the fourth-grade level. There was a three-way tie for first place in the fifth-grade individual challenge. Robert Polk from William A. Diggs Elementary School, Grady Klaas from Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School and Emily Smith from Mitchell tied for first place with a score of 90 points.

The top five teams, as well as the top three individuals, at each grade level received a plaque and the top scoring student on each team received a medal. All competing students received a participant ribbon. The annual event is sponsored by the Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO). Visit SMECO’s website at for more information.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela Murphy, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers