County students named Carson Scholars

County students named Carson Scholars

Five Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students were recently named 2016 Carson Scholars, a national distinction that recognizes academic achievement and humanitarian qualities as well as provides a $1,000 college scholarship.

Selected are Daniel McKenzie, fifth grade, Berry Elementary School; Aaron Sellow, fifth grade, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School; Alayna Steinmetz, fifth grade, Dr. James Craik Elementary School; Jori Watson, fifth grade, Mary H. Matula Elementary School; and Benjamin Williamson, fifth grade, William A. Diggs Elementary School. They are among 625 students selected from nationwide schools for the Carson Scholars Fund this year and will be honored at an April 10 ceremony in Baltimore.

Thirteen additional CCPS students received a Carson Scholars scholarship renewal. They are: Carla Arquero, junior, North Point High School; Eileen Browning, sixth grade, Milton M. Somers Middle School; Owen Butler, eighth grade, Piccowaxen Middle School; Sarah Chen, junior, Maurice J. McDonough High School; Brett Culhane, junior, Henry E. Lackey High School; Tyler Dixon, junior, La Plata High School; Christian Fisher, senior, North Point High School; Alyssa Gerhart, seventh grade, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School; Autumn Gray, freshman, La Plata; Madelyn Mudd, eighth grade, Piccowaxen; Gabrielle Sandy, senior, Lackey; Connor Smith, junior, North Point; and Dennis Whitley, IV, senior, North Point.

Scholars who are recognized through a renewed scholarship status are recognized for maintaining high academic standards and a strong commitment to their communities. More than 840 scholars were renewed this year.

Each year, the Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to a select group of high achieving students in grades four through 11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities. Students must have a minimum 3.75 grade-point average to be considered. The scholarships are invested for the students’ college education.

At the awards ceremony, each recipient will receive a medal and framed certificate of achievement and their school will receive a trophy to recognize their scholar’s accomplishment.

The Carson Scholars Fund was founded in 1994 by world-renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Benjamin S. Carson and his wife, Candy, to motivate and reward academic excellence in young people. To date, the Carson Scholars Fund has awarded more than 7,300 scholarships and has scholars in all 50 states and Washington, D.C.

For more information, visit the Carson Scholars website at

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,798 other subscribers