Charles County students selected for Tri-County Orchestra

Charles County students selected for Tri-County Orchestra

More than 50 Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students were recently selected to participate in the Tri-County orchestra ensembles. Middle and high school students from Charles, Calvert and St. Mary’s counties participate in the audition process.

Hundreds of students audition to be a part of the Tri-County orchestras. The audition process requires students to play musical scales, a prepared solo and a site-reading piece before a panel of judges. The top scoring students are then selected to participate in a concert, held annually.

The students selected to play in the Tri-County orchestra ensembles are as follows:

High school participants:

  • Sydney Fronck, sophomore, Henry E. Lackey High School;
  • Franchezka Matundan, freshman, Lackey;
  • Alex Catterton, sophomore, La Plata High School;
  • Margaret Gray, sophomore, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • Ryann McGee, junior, McDonough;
  • Aaron Abshire, freshman, North Point High School;
  • Benjamin Abshire, senior, North Point;
  • Aisac Accad, freshman, North Point;
  • Maren Angala, sophomore, North Point;
  • Devin Brown, junior, North Point;
  • CheBreia Gibbs, senior, North Point;
  • Daphine Henderson, sophomore, North Point;
  • Keely Hollyfield, senior, North Point;
  • Larissa Mathis, sophomore, North Point;
  • Destini Monk, senior, North Point;
  • Alyssa Raqueno, sophomore, North Point;
  • Esha Satam, freshman, North Point;
  • Anna Schierlmann, senior, North Point;
  • Ashlynn Stanley, senior, North Point;
  • Madison Stanley, freshman, North Point;
  • Erin Whitt, senior, North Point;
  • Alana Johnson, senior, Westlake High School; and
  • Shannon Johnson, junior, Westlake.

Middle school participants:

  • Adolf Accad, sixth grade, Theodore G. Davis Middle School;
  • Emily Decker, eighth grade, Davis;
  • Amara Gammon, seventh grade, Davis;
  • Daniel Gonzales, seventh grade, Davis;
  • Michael Stone, seventh grade, Davis;
  • Tyler Cataldo, eighth grade, John Hanson Middle School;
  • Haedn Rho, seventh grade, Hanson;
  • Alexander Booth, eighth grade, Mattawoman Middle School;
  • Aisha Brown, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Aliah Brown, sixth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Lea Cole, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Aryanna Ilamni, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Alexis Lepe, seventh grade, Mattawoman;
  • Rachel Raqueno, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Marie Bennett, seventh grade, Mathhew Henson Middle School;
  • Kaelyn Briscoe, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Ashli Chicks, eighth grade, Henson;
  • Eleni Christley, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Akshay Dham, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Gabrielle Dickerson, eighth grade, Henson;
  • Imani Ford, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Noah Kidwell, eighth grade, Henson;
  • JaNia McCloud, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Eric Williams, eighth grade, Henson;
  • Veronica Lebeau, seventh grade, General Smallwood Middle School;
  • Leah Russell, seventh grade, Smallwood;
  • Dream Washington, eighth grade, Smallwood;
  • Jlah Watson, eighth grade, Smallwood;
  • Tristan Horne, eighth grade, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Serenah Illick, sixth grade, Somers;
  • Caryn Law, seventh grade, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School; and
  • Carl Wachowski, seventh grade, Stoddert.

The Tri-County orchestras will perform at 6 p.m., Feb. 9, at the Mary Harrison Center located in Calvert County. The address for the center is 2950 Chaneyville Rd, Owings, MD 20736.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,500 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Connie W. Armstead, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers