CCASC leaders for next school year elected by peers

CCASC leaders for next school year elected by peers

Student delegates from Charles County Public middle and high schools selected Charles County Association of Student Councils (CCASC) officers to lead the group next school year. Officers serve one-year terms and are voted on by their peers to represent the middle and high school student communities.

The following students will lead the CCASC for the 2016-17 school year.

  • Joseph Perriello, rising senior, North Point High School, CCASC president;
  • Kyle Smith, rising junior, North Point, CCASC vice president;
  • Taaron Branch, rising freshman, North Point, CCASC second vice president;
  • Nadjia Haskins, rising sophomore, Westlake High School, CCASC secretary;
  • Rida Dhanani, rising sophomore, North Point, CCASC charity coordinator; and
  • Morgan Jones, rising eighth grader, Milton M. Somers Middle School, CCASC middle school representative.

Student delegates in the CCASC meet several times a year to discuss issues and concerns, school system policies and programs and other topics of interest and concern to students. CCASC students also annually vote to support one local community organization or charity group to support throughout the school year. The group is overseen by a regional advisor, Gary Winsett who is a social studies teacher at Thomas Stone High School.

Schools develop their own methods for selecting CCASC student delegates. Each high school sends 15 delegates to monthly meetings; middle schools send up to 10 delegates. The CCASC is an organization consisting of student leaders from the county’s seven high schools and eight middle schools.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,300 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,806 other subscribers