Board of Education XVI takes office

Board of Education XVI takes office

Members of the Board of Education XVI took the oath of office Monday during a swearing-in ceremony held St. Charles High School. Five new Board of Education members, Mark Crawford, Victoria Kelly, Margaret Marshall, Virginia McGraw and Barbara Palko, were elected in November to their first term in office and join incumbents Jennifer Abell and Michael Lukas, who were re-elected.

The Board members serve a four-year term and elect officers at the January meeting. Board members Patricia Bowie, Maura Cook, Pamela Pedersen and Roberta Wise did not run for re-election.

  • Abell is the Director of the March of Dimes for Southern Maryland and a long-term resident of Charles County. She was first appointed to the Board in 2004, and re-elected to her third term this year.
  • Crawford is a teacher and extended care director at Southern Maryland Christian Academy. Elected in November, Crawford previously served a four-year term as a member of the Board of Education from 2002 to 2006.
  • Kelly is a management consultant and program analyst for EHS Technologies and an active parent and community volunteer. She is newly elected.
  • Lukas is an engineer at the Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division and volunteers with several community organizations. He was elected to a second term.
  • Marshall is a former government remediator, assistant test coordinator, social studies teacher and county instructional resource teacher for social studies who retired from the office of curriculum and instruction after 25 years of service with Charles County Public Schools. She is newly elected.
  • McGraw is a retired Charles County Public Schools principal who also served as a teacher and vice principal during her 25-year career with Charles County Public Schools. She is newly elected.
  • Palko is a retired career and technology education coordinator who also served as a teacher and instructional specialist during her 35-year career with Charles County Public Schools. She is newly elected.
  • Georgia Benson is the appointed student member of the board. She is a senior at Westlake High School, where she serves a member of the student government association, Key Club and the National Honor Society. She also plays varsity field hockey and lacrosse.

Benson and St. Charles High student liaison Paris Mercier officiated the swearing-in ceremony where Clerk of the Charles County Circuit Sharon Hancock administered the oath of office to each member.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,500 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.