Board honors exemplary employees

Board honors exemplary employees

The Board of Education honored six Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) employees during the Jan. 14 Board meeting, including Tracy Cundiff, Carol Briscoe, Sharon Hawkins, Lisa Hasz, Brenda Coombs and Tony Chase.

Cundiff is a secretary at Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School and she has worked at Jenifer since 2004. Cundiff is involved with several extracurricular activities including Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) sponsored events, school fundraisers, wall displays, school evening events and the school yearbook sponsor. According to a nomination letter written by Jenifer Principal Nancy Siefert, “On a daily basis, Mrs. Cundiff demonstrates patience and delivers the highest level of customer service to our parents, students, staff and community while working in a demanding office. Year after year the school receives several compliments from parents and students alike regarding how courteous and helpful Mrs. Cundiff is to them on a daily basis.”

Briscoe is a kindergarten instructional assistant at T.C. Martin Elementary School and serves as a team leader for the instructional assistants in the building. Briscoe has led a group of assistants who have been trained in Foundations Reading, a phonics-based intervention for struggling kindergarten students. In the past, she has taught herself and others how to implement different teaching strategies in both reading and math. “Carol is a quiet leader, who goes above and beyond her job description. She takes it upon herself to be able to mentor instructional assistants in the kindergarten and prekindergarten programs when they are new to the building or job,” Martin Principal Gregory Miller wrote in a nomination letter.

Hawkins is a food service worker at Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School. At the start of the 2013-2014 school year, Hawkins took on the responsibilities of a food service manager. In addition to taking on more responsibilities, Hawkins also learned a new food-ware system. “Mrs. Sharon Hawkins is one of the best food service workers that we have had the pleasure to work with at Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School. She really showed high pride and exemplary work ethic when she had to step in for our food service manager and run our program,” Mudd Principal Kimberly Hairston wrote in a nomination letter.

Hasz is a special education instructional assistant at William B. Wade Elementary School. Prior to becoming an instructional assistant she was a parent involved in Wade’s Parent-Teacher Organization (PTO). Hasz works with various grade levels and focuses on enhancing the reading abilities of students. According to a nomination letter written by Wade Principal Virginia McGraw, “We are very fortunate to have Lisa Hasz as a member of our staff. Her many talents definitely contribute to the success of our students and our school. We are blessed to have her as a Wade Wildcat.”

Coombs has worked as a special education instructional assistant at Matthew Henson Middle School for almost ten years. In addition to her position as an instructional assistant, Coombs is involved in honor roll assemblies, drama club and is a co-sponsor of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS). “Mrs. Brenda Coombs is an exceptional special education instructional assistant with a heart of gold. She is firm, kind and patient with all of the students in the special education programs as well as the school at large. Mrs. Coombs’ work ethic is second to none. She is dedicated to the special education students and supports all of their activities,” Henson Principal Sonia Jones wrote in a nomination letter.

Chase has worked for CCPS for almost 30 years and has been a building service manager at the Robert D. Stethem Educational Center for seven years. He has served as a member of the crisis team and the dedication committee. In addition to his participation in school programs, Chase has invested his time in new computer programs and bell system changes. He has also worked with staff and students to develop a horticulture program at Stethem. According to a nomination letter written by Stethem Principal Wayne Freeman, “Mr. Chase is a man of great pride and he transfers that pride to looking after our building inside and out. Stethem positively shines! He leads his staff by setting an example of hard work with a positive attitude.”

The Board honors several outstanding employees each month.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,500 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Connie W. Armstead, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,799 other subscribers