The Board of Education of Charles County establishes educational and fiscal policy, provides overall direction and governs Charles County Public Schools. Board members are elected by registered voters. The next general election will be held in November 2022. Legislation passed by the Maryland General Assembly in 2021 changes the 2022 Board of Education election. Two Board members will be elected from each of the four Charles County Commissioner districts for a total of eight Board members to serve a four-year term. Additionally in the 2022 election, one member will be elected from the county at-large to serve an initial two year term, and then be eligible to run for a four-year term in 2024. Elected Board members will be limited to two terms.

The Board members appoint the Superintendent of Schools to manage the day-to-day operations of the school system. The Superintendent of Schools is Maria V. Navarro, Ed.D., who was appointed to her first, four-year term in 2021. Her current term expires July 2025.

To contact the office of the Board of Education, please call 301-934-7224, or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. To reach individual Board members via e-mail, please visit the Member Profiles page.

Visit our budget page for approved operating budgets and audits from previous fiscal years.

BOE History Book imageTake a look at our Historical Minutes from 1892-1932.

Historical Minutes 1892-1919 

Historical Minutes 1920-1932 


*Open Bookmark feature on left-hand side of PDF to view by year.