Dec 19, 2014 7:52:43 AM Charles County Public SchoolsAbout This Site | Contact Us | Home | RSS



Charles County Scholarship Fund

The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to Charles County high school seniors.

The following county groups -- the Charles County Commissioners, Charles County Public Schools, the College of Southern Maryland and the Chamber of Commerce -- are always represented on the Scholarship Fund Board. All other members of the Board are selected from the community at large.

See a list of colleges in Maryland and visit their websites.

How To Apply

Applications are sent annually to each of the high schools in Charles County. Seniors should see their counselor or the College and Career Advisor for additional information and application forms.

The 2014 application will be available December 2013.


Scholarships Available for Charles County students

Each scholarship has specific eligibility criteria.
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. - Donald M. Wade $1,000
Apartments of St. Charles $500
Ashley Jayne Younger Memorial (two awards)* $1,000
Charles County Chamber of Commerce* $500
Charles County Health Department and School Nurses $250
Charles County Retired School Personnel Association (six awards)* $500
Charles County Teacher Education Assistance $1000 (renewable)
Charles Shelton Veterinarian* $2,500
Edward Rorer Memorial $500
Grote Memorial* $500
GRPA Stem* $1,000 (renewable)
Harding Memorial Future Educator $1,000
Harold Allen Levy* $1,000
Jeremiah and Elijah Borgnis Memorial $500
John H. Cox Memorial $1,000
Kate Donahue Memorial $400
Katherine D. Racey Memorial $1,500
La Plata Garden Club $1,000
Lisa Michele Duckett Achievement Award* $1,000
Mary Matula $300
Michael J. Anderson Memorial $1,000
Michael S. Tayman Memorial $1,000
Michael S. Tayman Nursing $1,000
Mildred Rice O'Callaghan Memorial* $500
Nicole Pitonyak Memorial $1,000
Parker Financial, LLC Financial Literacy $250
Patricia Sugg Weiers Memorial $250
Professor V. Phillips Weaver $1,000
Richard J. Abela $2,000
Robert Dean Stethem - National Memorial* $1,000
Robert Dean Stethem - Thomas Stone* $1,000
Ronald G. Cunningham (six awards) $2,500
Ronald G. Cunningham Nursing* $500
St. Charles Community (three awards) $500
Starkey Memorial* $500
Stephen E. Mitchell Educational* $500
Thomas B.R. Mudd Nurse, College of Southern Maryland* Full 2 years, CSM
Thomas B.R. Mudd Teacher, College of Southern Maryland* Full 2 years, CSM
Thomas Kurtz Memorial $1,000
Timothy Minor Criminal Justice $500
Timothy Minor Memorial $500
Tiny Hopes (three awards)* $1,000
Unnae Pak Borgnis Memorial $500
William and Vivian King $1,000
Woman's Club of Southern Maryland* $500
Zonta of Charles County (two awards) $1,000

*denotes a merit and financial need scholarship

updated 2/6/13


Contact Information

Alicia A. Jones
Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc.
5980 Radio Station Road
P.O. Box 2770
La Plata, Maryland 20646

Phone: 301-934-7334
Fax: 301-392-7511



©1995-2013 Charles County Public Schools
5980 Radio Station Road | P.O. Box 2770 | La Plata, MD 20646
301-932-6610 | 301-870-3814 | TTY: 301-392-7579 | Info Line: 301-932-6656

Nondiscrimination Statement | Privacy Policy | ADA/Section 508 | Website Feedback MSDE  |  Site Map