North Point High School's It's Academic team earned the top spot in the annual Charles County Public Schools competition held Dec. 5 at Henry E. Lackey High School. The North Point three-member team of Alphonso Gaston Lopez, Alex Corbin and Marie Sterba scored 380 points in the championship round against La Plata and Thomas Stone high schools to earn first place.

La Plata High School earned second place with a score of 300 in the championship round, followed by Stone in third place with a score of 290. Since the team from North Point competed in a regional televised competition already this school year, the second place team from La Plata will compete in an upcoming regional event against Langley and Oakton high schools set to air on March 2, 2013, on WRC TV (NBC 4).

Each year, the second place winner at the county level earns a chance to also compete in a regional match. The North Point team won second place in the 2011 county competition and won second place in a regional event against Thomas S. Wootton and George Mason high schools earlier this school year. The team will again have the opportunity to compete in a regional event next fall.

The Greater Waldorf Jaycees presented North Point with a $500 scholarship for their first-place win. Lopez is team captain; team alternate is Ashlynn Stanley and Luke Gibson, Noah Gibson, Alyssa Moffat, Joel Rogers and Dalton Steele are also members of the team. Team coaches are Maureen Stewart, a foreign language teacher at North Point, and Josh Lisi, a Spanish teacher at North Point.

As second-place winners, La Plata received a $250 scholarship from the Jaycees. Competing in the event were the three-member team of Captain Alex Smith, Bao Dinh and Matthew Kamin. Students William Coggins, Matthew Huldisch, Thomas T.C. Martin, Spencer Ramirez, Ina Reyes and Bethany Riege. Team coach is Amanda Ferncez, a science teacher at La Plata.

For their participation in the competition, all other high schools received a $250 scholarship from the Jaycees. The other high school three-member teams were: Lackey – Captain Paul Warren, Charles Campbell and Raven Sparks; McDonough – Captain Numa Robertson, Courtney Dunn and Adrianne Turner; Thomas Stone – Captain Mia Chase, Bobby Jeffrey and Ishmail Harris; and Westlake – Captain Samantha Wood, Brian Linder and Ryan Hook.

Steven Bode is the Lackey team alternate and Zakaria Abderahim, Caleb Bickerstaff, Maxim Bode, Kevin Chen and Christian Warren are also members of the Lackey team. Team coach is Don Browder, a social studies teacher at Lackey.

Misha Patel is the McDonough team alternate. Completing the team are Franklin Olmsted, Hanan Perigrino, Paige Wearmouth and Jacob Zeitler. Team coach is Courtney Abell, an English teacher at McDonough.

Kaitlyn Crook is the Stone team alternate and Rachel Pritchett and Matthew Trusnovic are also members of the team. Team coach is Nancy Jeffrey, a German teacher at Stone.

The Westlake team alternate is Alyssa Kepner and the team coach is James Ressler, an English teacher at Westlake. Matthew Howard, a social studies teacher at Westlake, also assisted the team.

The Dec. 5 competition will be broadcast on Comcast Channel 96, the school system's educational television station, and Verizon FiOS Channel 12 later this month. Check the programming schedule at for dates and times.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,700 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 caring community schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Connie W. Armstead, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646; (301) 932-6610/870-3814. For special accommodations call (301) 934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.